Testimonials – updated 23 March 2015

Terrence B. said...
Already have a return stay planned!
Date of stay: 07 January 2015

First, I hate reviews that I have to wait to the end for the punchline, so here it is up front - "This is a very special place and I am looking forward to returning." When I arrived it was midnight, pitch black and pouring rain. I just wanted to get to bed which I did. When I awoke the next morning I was dumbstruck by the view that greeted me. A glance outside my bedroom windows revealed that I was picture postcard. I was looking out of my balcony right into a mountain range so clear and so close I could almost touch them. And as I went to bed I had no idea they were even there. I travel extensively but this was the first time I was in this part of the country. The mountains are beautiful and this house is positioned on the edge of this small Swiss mountain village within walking distance of the small quaint village centre. It was clear that the house was not part of a large chain of hotels or B& B's as it seems that the owner has taken great care to after even the smallest detail. I love to cook and the kitchen was modern and appliance full. The bathrooms were also modern as well. While I was not with a small family, there were even things for them including old school items like board games, puzzles and books as well as a more modern entertainment centre and speedy WIFI. The cosy living room with its own mountain view was perfect as I sat by the fire with an accompanying drink. I was fortunate enough to meet the owner briefly. Mrs.R was just as I thought she must be given how appointed the home was. She has made her house truly a home. I was able to ask her in person to try to squeeze me in again for next year. So if you are alone or a couple or family or even small wedding party, this home with its space for 10 or 12 people should be on the top of your list.

Kimberly H. said...
Fantastic stay
Date of stay: 27 September 2014

This was a truly lovely and near magical place to stay. My only regret is not being able to stay longer. The cabin is spacious and well maintained. The views are magnificent and you can begin a beautiful hike to the mountains, through pastures or to the lake just by stepping out the front door. Great location....Aeschi is a charming little town and we quite enjoyed Spietz. Many good restaurants for such a small town. Not far from Interlakken, Grindlewald, Murren. This location is ideal for outdoor enthusiasts and also for those who prefer to curl up on a comfy couch and relax. We used public transportation only as we had the swiss pass. It was doable and we thought of it as an adventure since we do not use public transportation at home, but to maximize your time, renting a car is ideal. if you use public transport like us, then be sure to pack light or take a cab in. I would love to return to this cabin in the future. Our party ranged in age from 3-69 and there was something for everyone and the highlight of our trip to Switzerland. I can't say enough about the beauty of the area. Every picture we took looks like a postcard! Jane was excellent! Very easy to work with and answered all questions promptly and thoroughly. Even left us a welcome bottle of wine:). Don't miss out...you will be thrilled with your stay here!

Guy V. said...
For the second time in paradise "Halteweidli"
Date of stay: 12 April 2014

As a family we try to spend our summer holidays just the four of us together, but in springtime, around Easter, we always have a break with family and friends. For the second time in a row, we came to this idyllic place in Aeschiried and got more than a confirmation of our expectancy's. As a matter of fact, we've already bookt for the 3th time... The weather was wonderfull and we could even enjoy our breakfast on one of the terraces, we had multiple evening BBQ's and gatherings on the lower terras. Meanwhile dreaming away by the sunset with the "Niesen" as leadplayer. We also had the priviledge of getting to know all the chalet's neighbors, Mr and Mrs Easterbunny and their 40 kids, The Deer Family, Mr Fox, lots and lots of bird Families and of course the Lama bunch. Nice siteseeing possiblities and lots of "wanderwegen" or to put it in an other perspective: Everything you need to become a 100 years old is present on this location, by witch I do not mean the material stuff! (By the way, also the material things present in the chalet are more than OK!!!) Congratulations to Jane and Harry, you have done a wonderfull job on the restoration. If heaven needs to be relocated, this would be the perfect spot! Warm greetings from the Vermost Family from Belgium

Vreni R. said...
Wunderschöne Lage mit hohem Komfort
Date of stay: 22 February 2014

Halteweidli ist ein sehr gut eingerichtetes, gemütliches Haus. Es ist an idealer Ausgangslage für alle Skigebiete in Richtung Adelboden, Gstaad und Grindelwald. Sogar das kleine Skigebiet in Aeschiried war in Betrieb. Die sehr gut präparierte Langlaufloipe direkt vor dem Haus führt bis ins idyllische Suldtal und bietet Abwechslung für Tage, die man vor Ort verbringen will. Besonders geschätzt haben wir die schnelle, unkomplizierte und herzliche Betreuung durch die Vermieterin. Ihr liegt viel am Wohl der Gäste. Gerne erinnern wir uns an die Abende in warmer Ambiente vor dem Cheminee, als es draussen schneite. Unvergessen bleiben auch die vielen Sonnenstrahlen, die wir auf der grossen Terrasse mit Blick ins Kandertal genossen.

Jeff D. said...
Fantastic Chalet in a Perfect Location.
Date of stay: 24 August 2013

We stayed in Halteweidli for a week at the end of August and had a fantastic time. Every morning there were wild deer outside the kitchen window and the views down the valley were beautiful. The chalet is a short 20mins drive from Interlaken which is the gateway to the Grindelwald and Lauterbrunnen valleys. With a Jungfraunbahnen region pass we had free travel on boats, cablecars, trains and mountain railways. We visited Murren, Wengen, Lauterbrunnen, Mannlichen, the First, Pfingstegg and Grindelwald, went on a paddle steamer on the lake and a trip to the top of the Jungfraujoch where the we had a snowball fight in August at nearly 3500m high! We visited Kandersteg and did the toboggan run, came down from Grindelwald First on the zip wire and mountain scooters and our oldest daughters went canyoning. We had busy days and it was lovely to go back to the chalet at the end of each day and relax. It is just a short drive back each time but we could leave the busy world of the tourists behind and enjoy the chalet’s beautiful location, take in the views and have some peace and quiet. We are a family of 5 so we had plenty of space to spread out and the wifi enabled the girls to update facebook with pictures of the amazing things they did. The chalet is very well equipped, modern, clean and tidy and it’s wonderful to just sit outside on the terrace and listen to nothing but nature. Are you reading this and wondering if it’s as good as it sounds? Well its better so just book it, you won’t be disappointed! I would be happy to recommend the chalet to anyone and would love to stay there again in the future. The De La Mare Family.

Natalie said...
An excellent home away from home!
Date of stay: 10 August 2013

This place is idyllic! Stunning views and walks, with nature close-up, something to see or watch every few steps you take. The image we saw when we walked across the meadow along the trail and came upon the valley surrounded by all the peaks will be imprinted in memory for ever! The chalet itself is perfect, spotlessly clean and so, so comfortable! Beautiful furnishings with great taste and all you need available; excellently equipoed kitchen and laundry room, comfortable and clean beds, large colour-coded (very good idea) bath towels, efficient bar-b-que, books of all genres, comfy sofas, cosy throws, lovely rugs on the floors, marvellous views on all sides - the perfect holiday home. We simply have to visit again in the future. So thoughtful in providing anything one might need. And very important, it is so clean that you feel you need to keep it that way, and all you need to keep it that way is available. We had lovely evening meals in the dining room and also bar-b-q on the terrace in the sun. Plenty of seating available. Very easy to reach Thun, Interlaken and Jungfraujoch, Bern, Gruyere, Lucerne; these are all beautiful places one should definitely visit. Each holds its particular brand of magic. Spiez itself is beautiful with its schloss (castle) and marina. We even managed to have a 'refreshing' dip in the lake from a spot on the opposite bank, a few metres away from the enclosed swimming area This was a dream holiday - we definitely recommend this chalet. I had contacted the owner on various occasions by e-mail and she kept me well-informed and sent me excellent instructions regarding the chalet and activities going on. Parking on site.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Mercè and family said...
An unforgettable priviledge
Date of stay: 15 July 2013

We were very privileged to spend a few days of our holidays in Switzerland at Halteweidli, an unforgettable chalet in which we celebrated our 1 year old twin daughter’s birthday. The chalet is just idyllic, a truly enjoyable place, very tastefully decorated. It reminded us to the chalet pictured at Hitchcock’s movie North by Northwest). It is cosy, extremely well equipped, particularly the kitchen and the children’s play room and, to cap it all, it is surrounded by the most impressive landscapes. All the rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. The views from the windows to the mountains and the valley are unique, very dramatic, and really spectacular. The location is just ideal; so central that you can reach most landmarks and towns in Switzerland in no time. Although we only stayed there for a few days, we managed to make some tourism and visit Thun, Interlaken, Neuchâtel, Lucerne and Bern. It is a very enjoyable and extremely recommendable chalet for a relaxing holiday both, in the summer and in the winter, and it is just a few minutes away from the idyllic Spiez, a very beautiful lakeside village where you can eat the most delicious Kaisersmorren and spent a lovely day at Freybad, a leisure club with lovely views and great leisure facilities. We would love to come back to chalet Halteweidli one day. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Jane and Harry for making our holiday in Switzerland so unforgettable. The Jané-Heidsiek family.

Attila R. said...
What you see is what you get
Date of stay: 06 July 2013

The description and the pictures of Halteweidli you find on this webpage, 100% match with what you will find when you arrive at this well maintained, tidy and perfectly situated Chalet. We were 10 people, 4 grown-ups and 6 teenagers between 14 and 19 years of age. The chalet offers plenty of room to easily and comfortably accomodate 10 people. 2 clean and spacious bathrooms with enough warm water for everybody help you quickly feel like at home. The kitchen matches the standard set by the rest of the house. Before you start for Aeschiried you will receive a comprehensive, detailed and up-to-date documentation that will help you find your way in and around Halteweidli without any difficulties and should a question still remain unanswered, Jane will gladly and promptly provide the answer to it. It certainly is an advantage to travel to Halteweidli by car as it is located just outside the village and probably too far away from the bus station to carry luggage or shopping bags to the house. If you go there by car, you can very easily reach smaller shops and very nice restaurants within a few minutes in the village of Aeschi. If you prefer to go to a supermarket, you will find those in Spiez, about a 10-15 min. car drive away. Back at home at Halteweidli you can choose on which terrace you prefer to have the BBQ. Both terraces provide a splendid view on the "Kandertal" and enough space for all, no matter how big your party is. BBQ and all that is required for it is there, ready for you to use. Due to its perfect location you can reach any place in the Bernese Oberland and even the capital Berne in less than one hour, which makes Halteweidli the perfect place to stay if you are intending to visit the world famous places in that area. Should you have really bad luck and the weather does not allow for trips to the mountains there is a big choice of places to visit even in bad weather. And if you prefered to stay at home, the house is so comfortable you might even enjoy to staying in for a day and relax. If you don't need a discotheque or bar just around the corner and like hearing the river quietly flowing through the forest down in the valley you will most likely enjoy your stay at the Halteweidli as much as we did.

Anonymous said...
Beyond all expectations!
Date of stay: 18 May 2013

Since booking the chalet back in October I had a steady correspondence with the owner so knew we were going to a well loved home. However it went beyond all expectations and was so comfortable, welcoming and relaxing. From the minute we stepped in the front door we felt at home. The chalet is maintained to a very high standard. We were 8 ladies going on to a conference in Lucerne and when the time came to leave we were reluctant to do so. The weather wasn't particularly good (or bad) and it didn't keep us in. We had one car so some of us frequented the bus to Aeschi and Spiez and found the locals very helpful. We ate at Chemihutte one evening also found the buffet at Spiez Railway Station to be very good and reasonable. We all long to return

Albertus R. said...
Snowtime
Date of stay: 02 March 2013

Beautiful special chalet, enclosed -but not lonely- in the natur. Complete and homelike decorated ! All conditions for a long stay, are present. In and outside, a guarantee, for a beautiful view and a lot of terraces. A chalet where you like to come back !

A little paradise in the mountains
by Nicole H., Switzerland
Review submitted: 22 August 2012 Date of Stay: July 2012

This Summer we spent a week in the Halteweidli. The house is in a wonderful setting with breathtaking fews. Because of its situation far from the streets it is a great place for holidays with children or to enjoy the quietness of this extraordinary place. Or both :-) We were three adults with 8 children. The house is very well equipped and cosy. You have Internet, TV with DVDs, a fireplace, BBQ, children room with toys and puzzles... two new renovated bathrooms and a kitchen with a great few on the Niederhorn. But you don't need all those things, because there is so much to see in the garden and the surrounding, so many excursions to do. The kitchen has everything you need and even more :-) The contact with the owners is very friendly. We enjoyed our stay a lot, I have never been to Aeschi before, but I hope it wont be my last stay. Jane and Harry, thank you very much

Feels like Home
by Asma N. in Riyadh
Review submitted: 13 August 2012 Date of Stay: July 2012

We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children. We spent an amazing holiday in this house. It is well equipped and spacious with internet. We found everything we needed in it. The kids enjoyed the games and the costumes in their room very much. The quietness around the house encourges the deers to apear. We were lucky to see three of them and a squirrel. There are lamas not far away too. the owner provides a PDF that has all the information anyone might need. There is also a collection of excellent books available in one of the rooms as an added luxury. Having coffee in the morning looking at the forest is one of my best memories. Anyone who loves nature will like this house with its location.We will definetly rent it if we come again and sure recommend it. Thank you Jane&Harry, wish you the best.

Great Vacation Rental
by Werner M. Saint-Lambert, Quebec
Review Submitted: 13 July 2012 Date of Stay: June 2012.

This is the perfect place for a big family, a lot of space, nice views, well equipped, kid friendly (with a beautiful children room with plenty of toys). It was clean and service was perfect. If you want live like Heidi, this is the place !

Charming, cosy and convenient!
by Ruti in Tel Aviv
Reviewed May 30, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We came here to travel my father's 70th birthday. The setting of the house is really lovely, conveniently located near the places we travelled to. The landscape around is breathtaking, everywhere we looked could very well have been a postcard. Prior to our arrival, we received all the necessary information regarding the house and the surrounding. When we contacted the house owner (Jane Royston) about skiing in the area, she checked and responded very fast. The chalet itself was decorated like a very cosy home and we felt very comfortable. I highly recommend this place for your visit!

Chalet Halteweidli
Reviewed by Carsten F, Denmark
April 2012

We were 9 (7 adults and 2 kids) and a dog enjoying a week in this beautiful chalet. We felt very welcome when we arrived. The chalet was very well heated, refrigerator was turned on, tourist information was available etc.. We enjoyed the size of the house as it gave us the possibility to relax together without sitting all in the same room all the time. We also enjoyed the location of the house, the view was just beautiful to three sides, there is nothing better than relaxing at the coach looking at the mountains with snow on the tops :-). There were plenty of hiking trails just outside the chalet which was very convenient. Our kids enjoyed the kids room at the top floor with a lot of different things to play with. We can also recommend the local swimbad in Aeschi (Hallenbad). This is definitely a house we can recommend to families or friends travelling together, we might even consider going back one of the coming years.

Christmas vacation 2011
Reviewed by Maria and Viktor, St Petersburg
Review submitted: 01/25/2012 for a stay in December 2011

We (family with 3 kids 3 yr, 9 yr, 12 yr) spent two weeks in Aescheried and are very content with our vacation. First surprise was that early in the morning four little deers approached so close to our home. Set on the edge of the hill the house looks down to the forest and you can watch wildlife that inhabits it just from the bed: squirrels, woodpeckers, other birds and if you are lucky as we are, deers. Also from this side of the house you have a great panoramic view of the snowy picked mountains. Especially it is a very pictoresque night view after sunset when the hundreds of brightening lights are contouring all the settlement. And what is a very rare thing for us at this period of winter that you can enjoy the bright stars of the sky.
This house is well designed and very good organized. Very spacious living room decorated with oriental carpets, old furniture, a big nice table for a big family and a rest zone with a fireplace and a lot of space where you can "land on" and devote yourself to simple pleasures of resting and dreaming.
The whole atmosphere of the chalet gives you a feeling that the house it is not designed for rent but it has it's own history, it's own style. It is very harmonic and cozy. You will find here a nice children's room full of games and every bedroom is suitable either for privacy and work.
We wandered the village up and down of high excitement with sledges and playing snow balls on the way. On our walk, we came across the village and the path along road took us up to the terasse where we have found a restaurant with a great playing ground for kids outside. From here we were glazing to the beauty of the snowy mountains and the big lake undernearth not icy yet. And still green hills down far away.
We have enjoyed our time spending here in Aeschi, best place to stay and travel from.

Un petit coin de paradis dans l'Oberland bernois
reviewed by Catherine H., France
Review submitted: January 16, 2012 Date of Stay: October 2011

J'ai eu le plaisir de séjourner en automne 2011 dans le chalet Halteweidli ä Aeschi, pendant une semaine. Nous avond trouvé le chalet spacieux, confortable et fonctionnel. Les chambres sont rénovées, jolies et accueillantes. Certaines avec balcon, certaines sous les combles. Deux jolies salles de bain complètement rénovées.
Nous avons pris des bains de soleil sur les terrasses qui donnent plein sud, avec une vue à vous couper le souffle. Le sentier de rando passe près du chalet et longe la forêt dans la vallée. La fenêtre de la cuisine donne sur une prairie où paissaient, des jeunes vaches qui, finissaient par nous reconnaître et répondaient à notre appel.
Le chemin pédestre pour aller au village (45mins) passe par de petits sentiers qui traversent des champs oú il y a des centaines de lamas plus beaux les uns que les autres. Au village il y a tout ce dont vous aurez besoin.
Une petite halte au tea-room pour y déguster d'énormes portions de vermicelles avant de remonter au chalet! Trop fatigué ou trop lourd pour remonter à pied alors il y a le bus.
J'ai adoré Aeschi veritable petit coin de paradis et le chalet est magnifique.
Bon séjour à tous!
Catherine H.
France